Skip to content
AI Property Tools

The best rent collection apps for landlords

Checked Oct 24, 2026As of October 2026, Zillow Rental Manager Free scores highest for collecting rent online (77/100), followed by Innago Free (73) and Baselane Smart (66). Scores weigh the fee per bank transfer, card fees, how fast rent reaches you, who controls the fees and the landlord app's rating against what the plan costs at 10 units.

Rent payment fees by app

What each app charges when a tenant pays rent online, and on which plan, as the vendor publishes it. A dash means we didn't find the figure on the vendor's pages.

AppBank transfer (ACH)CardTime to your accountWho controls the fee
Zillow Rental Manager logoZillow Rental ManagerFree for landlords and tenants12.95% on credit cards; $9.95 flat on debit cards; paid by the tenant2Cards about 3 business days, ACH 5; the first payment takes 7 to 103—
Innago logoInnago$2 per ACH payment, charged to the tenant unless you absorb it42.99%5One to two business days6You can absorb transaction fees instead of passing them on7
Baselane logoBaselane$2 per ACH payment (the pricing table shows $2 to $5); waived when rent goes into a Baselane account83.49%, charged to the tenant95 business days on Core; 2 on Smart10You can cover the ACH fee, pass it to the tenant, or avoid it with a Baselane account11
TurboTenant logoTurboTenantTenant pays $2 per ACH payment on Free; free with Pro. TurboTenant doesn't say which applies on Essentials.123.49%, paid by the tenant13——
Stessa logoStessaNo-fee ACH option; card fees not stated14———
DoorLoop logoDoorLoopIncoming ACH $1.50 on DoorLoop One; free on Connect15——You can add a convenience fee to tenant ACH payments16
Buildium logoBuildiumIncoming EFT $2.35 on Essential, $1.35 on Growth, free for the first year on Premium; who pays isn't stated172.99%; who pays isn't stated18——
Avail logoAvailTenant pays $2.50 per bank transfer on Unlimited (free); no fee on Unlimited Plus193.5%, added to the tenant's payment on any plan20Next-day deposits listed; FastPay on Unlimited Plus is faster21—
Hemlane logoHemlaneNo ACH fee; rent collection starts on Basic223%; who pays isn't stated23——
Rentec Direct logoRentec Direct$2 per incoming ACH on Starter; free on Pro and PM (one per property a month, then $0.50)243.50% on Starter, 2.95% on Pro and PM (Amex 3.50%); you choose who pays25—Card fees can be paid by the tenant or by you26
RentRedi logoRentRediACH, cards and retail cash; ACH deposits typically take 2-3 business days. Credit reporting $5.99/mo.27—ACH typically 2 to 3 business days28—
TenantCloud logoTenantCloudTenant pays $1.95 per ACH payment on Starter, $1.75 on Growth, $1.50 on Pro29———
Landlord Studio logoLandlord StudioOnline rent and deposits, partial payments, late fees and reminders on all plans. Fees not published.30———
Entrata logoEntrataResidentPay accepts credit cards, ACH, cash, money orders and scanned checks. Funds settle within 72 hours. Fees not published.31———
AppFolio Property Manager logoAppFolioeCheck (ACH), credit card, debit card, Apple Pay, AutoPay and Flex split rent. Fees not published.32———
Yardi Breeze logoYardi BreezeDebit, credit card and ACH, walk-in cash through PayNearMe, and recurring rent postings. Transaction charges may apply.33———
Propertyware logoPropertywareACH, credit and debit cards, check scanning and cash payments. Transaction fees apply; amounts not published.34———
Rent Manager logoRent ManagerOnline card and check payments through Zego ePay, CashPay at 30,000 CheckFreePay locations, check scanning and lockbox. Fees and who pays are not published.35———

Checked Oct 24, 2026. Fees are per payment. Plan prices at every unit count are on the pricing page.

Scores out of 100 (each bar split by criterion)
  1. Zillow Rental Manager logoZillow Rental Manager77
  2. Innago logoInnago73
  3. Baselane logoBaselane66
  4. TurboTenant logoTurboTenant66
  5. Stessa logoStessa63
  6. DoorLoop logoDoorLoop54
  7. Buildium logoBuildium53
  8. Avail logoAvail52
  9. Hemlane logoHemlane50
  10. Rentec Direct logoRentec Direct50

ACH feeCard feeDeposit speedFee controlApp Store ratingCost at 10 units

How we ranked them

Each tool gets up to 100 points, calculated from the published facts on its profile page.

CriterionPointsHow it's scored
ACH fee30Fee per bank-transfer payment on that plan: full points at $0, falling to zero at $3 or more; not published scores 0
Card fee10Card processing fee: full points at 2.95% or less, falling to zero at 4%; not published scores 0
Deposit speed15Fastest published time for rent to reach your account: 1 business day 15, 2 days 12, 3 days 9, 5 days 5; not published 0
Fee control1010 if you can choose to absorb fees or pass them to the tenant
App Store rating15Landlord app rating on a 3.0 to 5.0 scale: 5.0 earns 15, 3.0 or lower earns 0; needs 20+ ratings
Cost at 10 units20That plan's monthly cost at 10 units: full points at $0, falling to zero at $100 or more

The ranking at a glance

#ToolScoreACH feeCard feeDeposit speedFee controlApp Store ratingCost at 10 units
1Zillow Rental Manager logoZillow Rental Manager7730/30 Free: free10/10 2.95%5/15 5 business days0/10 not offered or not stated12/15 4.6 from 11,811 ratings20/20 $0/mo
2Innago logoInnago7310/30 Free: $2.0010/10 2.99%12/15 2 business days10/10 you choose11/15 4.4 from 1,018 ratings20/20 $0/mo
3Baselane logoBaselane6610/30 Smart: $2.005/10 3.49%12/15 2 business days10/10 you choose13/15 4.8 from 725 ratings16/20 $20/mo
4TurboTenant logoTurboTenant6630/30 Pro: free5/10 3.49%0/15 not published0/10 not offered or not stated14/15 4.8 from 11,983 ratings17/20 $16.58/mo
5Stessa logoStessa6330/30 Essentials: free0/10 not published0/15 not published0/10 not offered or not stated13/15 4.8 from 5,267 ratings20/20 $0/mo
6DoorLoop logoDoorLoop5430/30 DoorLoop Connect: free0/10 not published0/15 not published10/10 you choose14/15 4.8 from 6,548 ratings0/20 $299/mo
7Buildium logoBuildium5330/30 Premium: free10/10 2.99%0/15 not published0/10 not offered or not stated13/15 4.7 from 4,520 ratings0/20 not offered or no published price
8Avail logoAvail5230/30 Unlimited Plus: free5/10 3.5%15/15 1 business day0/10 not offered or not stated0/15 no landlord app found2/20 $90/mo
9Hemlane logoHemlane5030/30 Basic: free10/10 3%0/15 not published0/10 not offered or not stated0/15 no landlord app found10/20 $48/mo
10Rentec Direct logoRentec Direct5030/30 Rentec Pro: free10/10 2.95%0/15 not published10/10 you choose0/15 4.3 from 7 ratings0/20 not offered or no published price

The picks

01Zillow Rental Manager logo

Zillow Rental Manager

Scored on Free · 10 units: $0/mo
77/100

Best for: Individual landlords with 25 units or less who want free listings, screening and online rent payments.

What works
  • Listings are free to publish and include screening, digital lease signing and online rent payments.
  • Tenant screening costs landlords nothing; the applicant pays $35 and can reuse it for 30 days.
  • One listing is distributed to Zillow, Trulia and HotPads.
  • Rent collection is free for landlords, and ACH payments are free for tenants.
Watch for
  • Online rent payments are only for landlords with 25 units or less.
  • Tenants cannot submit maintenance requests; the tracker is for landlord record-keeping only.
  • No bookkeeping or tax reports are documented beyond Form 1099-K from Stripe.
  • Landlords can't pay the screening fee for an applicant, and Zillow won't adjust it for state fee rules.
02Innago logo

Innago

Scored on Free · 10 units: $0/mo
73/100

Best for: Independent landlords who want a free platform and are comfortable with tenants paying payment and screening fees.

What works
  • Free for landlords on the only plan, with no monthly, setup or contract fees at any unit count.
  • Tenants pay online rent fees by default ($2 per ACH payment), and the landlord can choose to absorb them.
  • Listings can be syndicated to Realtor.com, Zumper, Apartment List and other sites.
  • The iOS app averages 4.41 from 1,018 App Store ratings.
Watch for
  • Tenants pay card fees of 2.99% and screening fees of $30-35 by default, with income verification extra.
  • No state-specific lease library is offered, so state-specific lease needs may require an attorney.
  • Innago pages name different screening providers, Experian and TransUnion, so the provider is unclear.
  • Schedule E is not named among the accounting features.
03Baselane logo

Baselane

Scored on Smart · 10 units: $20/mo
66/100

Best for: Multi-property investors wanting free banking, bookkeeping and rent collection, plus Schedule E and tax reports.

What works
  • Core plan is $0/month and includes banking, bookkeeping and rent collection essentials.
  • The $2 ACH fee can be avoided by depositing rent into a Baselane checking account.
  • Core includes Schedule E reports and an accountant tax package.
  • Rated 4.79 across 725 ratings on the Apple App Store.
Watch for
  • Listings, leases and maintenance were not found on the pages reviewed; the product leads with banking and bookkeeping.
  • Card payments carry a 3.49% processing fee charged to the tenant.
  • Screening starts at $24.99, but the provider and who pays are not stated.
  • The AI features listed are on the Smart plan, which is $20/month on annual billing.
04TurboTenant logo

TurboTenant

Scored on Pro · 10 units: $16.58/mo
66/100

Best for: Self-managing landlords with 1 to 50 units who want free listings and screening paid by applicants.

What works
  • Free plan costs $0 per month with no fees or contracts, and includes listings, screening and rent collection.
  • Landlords pay $0 for screening; the applicant pays $45 or $55 depending on the landlord's plan.
  • Unlimited listings go to 25+ sites on every plan, including Free.
  • AI listing description generator and AI lease audit tool are free, TurboTenant says.
Watch for
  • Essentials and Pro are priced per year; no monthly billing option is shown.
  • ACH rent payments cost $2 on the Free-plan tab, and cards cost 3.49% on both tabs.
  • Autopilot full-service management has no published price; readers must contact sales.
  • Plan placement for maintenance and some accounting features could not be confirmed.
05Stessa logo

Stessa

Scored on Essentials · 10 units: $0/mo
63/100

Best for: Landlords and real estate investors wanting a free starting plan and flat pricing regardless of property count.

What works
  • Essentials is free and includes unlimited properties, rent collection, screening and maintenance tracking.
  • Pricing is flat per month for all properties, with no per-unit charge.
  • Vacancy ads syndicate to Zillow's family of sites on every plan.
  • Rated 4.8 from 5,267 ratings in the Apple App Store.
Watch for
  • Tenant ACH and card fee amounts and deposit speed are not published.
  • State lease agreements cost $15 each on the free Essentials plan.
  • Advanced reports, budgeting and pro-forma require the Pro plan.
  • Accelerated rent payments are limited to Manage and Pro.
06DoorLoop logo

DoorLoop

Scored on Connect · 10 units: $299/mo
54/100

Best for: Residential, commercial or HOA managers wanting accounting, screening, maintenance and AI agents in one tool.

What works
  • Unlimited eSignatures and lease templates are included on all plans.
  • TransUnion screening costs $35 per applicant on all plans, and landlords can mark up the fee.
  • Rated 4.83 stars from 6,548 ratings in the App Store.
  • One-on-one virtual onboarding and training come at no extra charge.
Watch for
  • Monthly minimums of $199 to $479 apply, depending on plan and billing term.
  • Incoming ACH costs $1.50 on DoorLoop One; it is free on Connect and Multiply.
  • DoorLoop's pricing page puts the Receptionist agent on Connect and Multiply but also lists agents as add-ons in its comparison table; add-on prices are not published.
  • Card processing fee rate is not published, and trust accounting is not named.
07Buildium logo

Buildium

Scored on Premium · 10 units: not offered
53/100

Best for: Owners and managers of residential or association portfolios who want AI tools and can accept starting-at pricing.

What works
  • 14-day free trial with no credit card required, and monthly plan pricing.
  • Premium includes all available Lumina AI features and the AI Workforce at no added charge.
  • Covers many property types, including community associations, commercial and student housing.
  • Resident Center app holds a 4.78 App Store rating from 157,537 ratings.
Watch for
  • Plan prices are shown only as starting at, with the unit-count rule not published.
  • Onboarding is mandatory on Growth and Premium, and the fee amount is not published.
  • AI Workforce is a unit-tiered add-on on Essential and Growth, adding to the monthly cost.
  • Essential charges $2.35 per incoming EFT and a $99 setup per business bank account.
08Avail logo

Avail

Scored on Unlimited Plus · 10 units: $90/mo
52/100

Best for: DIY landlords who want free rent collection, listings, screening and leases, and accept tenant-paid payment fees.

What works
  • Unlimited plan costs $0 per unit with no cap on units.
  • Free listing on 19 top sites, including Zumper, Padmapper and Realtor.com.
  • State-specific, lawyer-reviewed leases with digital signing are included on the free plan.
  • Unlimited Plus waives ACH fees for tenant bank payments.
Watch for
  • On the free plan, tenants pay $2.50 per bank transfer.
  • A 3.5% processing fee is added to card payments on any plan.
  • Per-report screening price is not published and varies by state.
  • Schedule E reports and bank feeds are not confirmed.
09Hemlane logo

Hemlane

Scored on Basic · 10 units: $48/mo
50/100

Best for: Owners and managers who want free listing and accounting tools, with paid tiers for rent collection and repairs.

What works
  • Starter is free forever with advertising, screening and rental accounting, and no credit card required.
  • Tenant screening costs $40 total and the tenant pays it.
  • Basic and above charge $0 ACH fees for online rent collection.
  • Accounting from Starter up includes bank sync, cash flow report, income statement and lease ledger.
Watch for
  • Essential annual is $20 per unit plus $28, against $2 per unit on Basic.
  • Complete monthly runs $34 plus $65 per unit, which reaches $13,034 at 200 units.
  • Complete may be unavailable in towns under 100,000 population.
  • Starter unit cap, screening provider and who pays the 3% card fee are not published.
10Rentec Direct logo

Rentec Direct

Scored on Pro · 10 units: not offered
50/100

Best for: Landlords and small property managers who want low entry pricing, no contract, and trust accounting available on the PM plan.

What works
  • No long-term contract, and a two-week free trial is available.
  • Free setup and onboarding, with no setup fees or training costs.
  • Starter is a flat $25 per month for 10 or fewer units.
  • Trust account management and an Owner Portal are included in the PM edition.
Watch for
  • Pro and PM cannot be downgraded back to Starter.
  • Who pays for tenant screening is not published.
  • Starter charges $2.00 per ACH payment and 3.50% on cards.
  • Support for commercial and HOA properties is not published.

Which rent collection apps are free for landlords and tenants?

On Zillow Rental Manager and Stessa, a tenant can pay rent by bank transfer for free on a $0 plan. On the other free plans the tenant pays a fee for each ACH payment, or the vendor doesn't publish one. Card payments cost more everywhere: published card fees run from 2.95% to 3.5% of the payment, which is $44.25 to $52.50 on $1,500 of rent.

Who pays the rent payment fee?

It varies by app and sometimes by plan. Innago, Baselane, DoorLoop and Rentec Direct say you can absorb the fee, pass it on or set your own. On TurboTenant, DoorLoop, Buildium, Avail and Rentec Direct, a higher plan drops the ACH fee that the cheaper plan charges. Where the table says who pays isn't stated, ask the vendor before you tell tenants what online payment will cost them.

Which apps don't publish their fees?

RentRedi, Landlord Studio, Entrata, AppFolio, Yardi Breeze, Propertyware and Rent Manager don't publish a per-payment fee on the pages we read, so ask before you sign up.

Last checked Oct 24, 2026. Every figure links to the page it came from (see Sources). Found something out of date? Tell us. How we pick and rank: methodology.

Sources 35 sources from 18 sites, including zillow.zendesk.com, innago.com, baselane.comShow

Every fact on this page comes from one of these.

  1. There is currently no fee for renters and landlords who transact with ACH.zillow.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/32877688808723-General-Information
  2. There is a 2.95% fee to use a credit card, and a $9.95 convenience fee on debit paymentszillow.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/32877688808723-General-Information
  3. Credit card and debit card payments are typically deposited within 3 business days after the payment is initiated, while ACH payments take 5 business days.zillow.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/32877688808723-General-Information
  4. ACH payments incur a $2 transaction fee, and credit/debit card payments incur a 2.99% transaction fee.innago.com/faq
  5. credit/debit card payments incur a 2.99% transaction feeinnago.com/faq
  6. In most cases, you can expect your funds within one to two business daysinnago.com/faq
  7. Innago gives you the choice to absorb transaction fees yourselfinnago.com/faq
  8. ACH payments incur a $2 fee, which landlords can either cover, pass to tenants, or waive by depositing rent into a Baselane checking account.baselane.com/rent-collection
  9. Tenants paying rent by debit or credit card will be charged a 3.49% processing fee.baselane.com/rent-collection
  10. Standard processing time for rent payments is 5 business days. Baselane Smart users receive rent in 2 business days.baselane.com/rent-collection
  11. landlords can either cover, pass to tenants, or waive by depositing rent into a Baselane checking accountbaselane.com/rent-collection
  12. $55 Online Rent Payments Bank Transfer (ACH) $2 fee||$45 Online Rent Payments Bank Transfer (ACH) Freeturbotenant.com/pricing
  13. Credit / Debit Card 3.49% feeturbotenant.com/pricing
  14. With a no-fee ACH option for landlords and additional payment methods like credit cards and debit cards also supportedstessa.com/rent-collection
  15. Incoming ACH Tenants pay rent and fees by bank transfer straight into your account. $1.50 Free Freedoorloop.com/pricing
  16. Pass payment fees to tenants Add a convenience fee to tenant ACH payments and keep it as income.doorloop.com/pricing
  17. Incoming EFT: $2.35 per transaction||Growth Incoming EFT: $1.35 per transaction||first year free Incoming EFT transactionsbuildium.com/pricing
  18. Credit Cards: 2.99% per transactionbuildium.com/pricing
  19. With Unlimited (free), tenants pay $2.50 per bank transfer.||For landlords on Unlimited Plus, there are no fees when tenants pay from a bank account.avail.co/pricing
  20. a 3.5% processing fee is added to tenant payments regardless of subscriptionavail.co/pricing
  21. Next-day payment depositsavail.co/pricing
  22. ACH (bank-to-bank) transactions no fee no fee no fee||Rent collection, late fees, financial tracking, $0 ACH feeshemlane.com/pricing
  23. Debit and credit card transactions 3% 3% 3%hemlane.com/pricing
  24. Tenant ACH payments (aka e-checks or bank draft) are free for Rentec Pro and PM subscribers.||One free incoming ACH per active property per month; excess payments are $0.50/each. $2.00 Freerentecdirect.com/pricing
  25. Card fees can be paid by the tenant or manager (your choice) 3.50% 2.95%rentecdirect.com/pricing
  26. Card fees can be paid by the tenant or manager (your choice)rentecdirect.com/pricing
  27. ACH (bank transfer) is the most cost-effective method, while card payments include standard convenience fees.rentredi.com/rent-collection
  28. ACH payments typically take 2–3 business days to deposit into your account once initiated.rentredi.com/rent-collection
  29. ACH Payments $ 1.95 *paid by a tenant $ 1.75 *paid by a tenant $ 1.50 *paid by a tenanttenantcloud.com/pricing
  30. Collect rent online Included Included Includedlandlordstudio.com/pricing
  31. A complete payment solution for credit cards, electronic check/ACH, cash, money order, and check scanning.entrata.com/products/residentpay
  32. FolioSpace supports eCheck (ACH), credit card, debit card, and Apple Pay.appfolio.com/property-manager/resident-experience
  33. Collect rent via debit, credit card and ACHyardibreeze.com/residential
  34. bank account withdrawal via ACH, credit cards and debit cards.propertyware.com/payments
  35. Process credit card and check payments online in real time with Zego’s ePay integration.rentmanager.com/accounting